Monologues

Time for an actor-y themed post (Surprise!). For some reason, I feel like there’s more pressure when I write about this, because it’s what I do. But I’d like to put a question to you, if you’ll come with me:

I’m working with a few different pieces of text at the moment – for upcoming auditions (once the auditions are done and dusted, I might come back and link you the pieces). One of the shows requires a ‘short monologue’, and the other a 2-3 minute fairytale. Which is pretty damn cool when you think about it. What I’m really enjoying is the license to create that those very broad instructions provide. The fairytale, for instance: I’ve got to be able to cram a very engaging, physical, fun and unique story into a 3 minute window. Which means I get to use my artistic discretion to play & explore, and edit furiously.

And then I can write about it here, to you. Because that’s another thing I’ve found. Blogs are fantastic source material for inspiration and stories. What is this post if not my monologue at this point in time? But that raises a few questions. Would you mind if you found out an actor (for example) was using your blog post as a monologue for an audition? Is it something you would welcome: “Well, my ideas are out there, affecting someone, inspiring something”, or is it something you would resent: “Hey, that’s my work, they’re my words, that’s a part of me, and I don’t want someone trying to do that”?

Personally, I’m more of the first one, but that’s my perspective, which is doubtless influenced by my career path. But those are the questions I ask every time I read a story; a glimpse of someone’s character, as expressed in their own (written, blogged) voice.

If you’re reading, I’d love to hear your take on that, or even your gut reaction. What else have you seen a blog post transform or evolve into? Where do they travel? Just some of the questions that float through my mind, M x

excerpt from my moleskine

excerpt from my moleskine

4 thoughts on “Monologues

  1. I think I’d be honored if someone used my ideas or thoughts, or referenced my work in some way. But perhaps not word for word without getting permission from me first — or giving me some credit / letting me know I’d been a source for inspiration. Writers can be picky creatures, so it’s best to ask them first for use of their material to avoid raising questions of plagiarism later, I think.

  2. Hi Michelle,
    Thanks for the response! It’s great to hear feedback, especially from a writer. I agree with you, I think it is very important to avoid plagiarising or upsetting the original creator of the work – particularly when in an instance like I’ve used above, you’re trying to honour the source and share something that their work has inspired in you with someone else.
    One thing I’m interested in is where that line sits, between re-blogging or ‘sharing’/linking the work, for example, with friends on social media, and retelling the work in an off-line context. Perhaps it all comes down to acknowledging and informing the original source; and the response may be a case-by-case basis. The same thing happens in the music industry, even in the ’20s, where there are some composers who loved arrangements of their work (eg. for jazz) and others who detested adaptation.
    I love exploring these areas because it involves so many of the things I do professionally and recreationally. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts, M.

  3. That sounds like a brilliant idea to use a blog as a monologue. I agree that it would be honoring if someone used a blog in such a way. Asking the blogger, however, would be courteous.

  4. Pingback: Coping Skill: #31. Reciting Dramatic Monologues or Poetry | Rose with Thorns

Leave a Reply

