Insomnia

I tend to write when I’ve planned to be sleeping. It helps me to clear my head, or rather it’s supposed to. My theory is that once I’ve emptied the words onto the page, then I can let them go and get some rest. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

Point is, it’s close to midnight (I’m not sure how to change the time settings on this blog yet so it’ll probably say something like 10am) and I have to get up in a few short hours for a bike ride. Worth it. But I should be asleep. and so I write. 

I’ll warn you now, I’m used to writing with pen and paper, and for my eyes only. So I’m trying to keep a balance between suitability for public consumption, and over-editing to the point of genericism (not a word, but it’s how I would normally write, and hopefully you get the idea). I guess the great thing about this medium is that if you get bored, you can stop reading wherever you like. I don’t really have to apologise for putting you out. Of course, I’ll try to keep it interesting, and I shall endeavour to avoid insulting anyone, and please feel free to tell me if there’s something you’d like to hear more of, but basically, take what you will from my ramblings and leave the rest for me. 

If you’re still reading, here’s a little quote to round things off (because what’s a blog post without a cheesy – however appropriate – quote from the master of dirty realism?)

“…maybe a damned good night’s sleep will bring me back to a gentle sanity.”

~ Charles Bukowski (…I did warn you)

Goodnight, M x.

Leave a Reply

